Home General Discussion

games with deforming clothing on characters?

wannabeartist
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
wannabeartist polycounter lvl 8
Hi all,

Are there any games out there where the characters' clothes would deform when they move? walk, run, etc.? Like third person games for instance?

I have to confess that I'm no expert in the latest games - quickly looking at a few reasonably fresh titles, I didn't see any deforming clothing. Armor seems popular and - even though it's natural in many genres - I'm guessing it's also partly due the fact that it doesn't deform?

So is this actually ever done and if, then could you give me an example of such a game?

Thanks!

Replies

• Snowfly
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Snowfly polycounter lvl 18
    I'm not much of a gamer myself these days, but off the top of my head...

-Practically every recent basketball game has physics driven cloth
    -Alan Wake's coat
    -Soul Calibur 4, Tekken 6, practically all characters costumes are cloth, with a lot of long flowing extensions, sleeve cuffs, etc.
  • wannabeartist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the examples!

Any ideas how these were made? Sculpted and turned into morph targets or something like that? Or do they actually use a physics engine?
  • Wahlgren
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wahlgren polycounter lvl 17
  • IEatApples
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Very sexy example of cloth physics for you to check out.

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gf26ZhHz6uM[/ame]

Edit: Damn you beat me to it....
  • wannabeartist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks,

That first one probably also had the best youtube comment of the year :D

Ok, but seriously that's not probably quite the reality in current games yet, is it?