Home General Discussion

Which tablet should I buy?

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Flaringo polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys, I'm wondering if I should get a tablet, but I'm not sure which one to get. I can't spend a lot of money on it. I'd say $140 max, I could expand the budget a bit if it makes a lot of difference.

I plan to use it for general doodling and sketching, concept drawing and texturing.

Any ideas?

Replies

• Dis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dis
    I've been using my Wacom Intuos 3 for many years now and haven't really kept up with what's out on the market atm but here are a couple of things I've found out the hard way.

Don't get anything below A5. While they're cheaper, they're too sensitive when drawing (mapping that small drawing area to your whole screen).
    Don't go for a cheap knock-off brand, buy a Wacom.

When it comes to tablets, you pretty much get what you pay for. If you want a really good one that you'll use often, you want to spend a little extra. That being said, I've heard some good things about the Bamboo series, which I think is around your priceclass.
  • eld
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    eld polycounter lvl 18
    Size is really preference, most people I knew would go for the A6.

it depends on if you draw with your wrist or your arm.
  • Calabi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Calabi polycounter lvl 12
    Bamboos are brilliant, nuff said.
  • Del
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Del polycounter lvl 9
    Calabi wrote: »
    Bamboos are brilliant, nuff said.

phoenix-wright-objection.jpg
  • Marine
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message