Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My attempt at Phillip K's Tutorial.

Hi guys, just getting a little practice in.

This is my first attempt at a texture like this. Never done normal or spec maps before so I followed a mixture of Phillip K's tutorial and Racer 445's hand painted metal tutorial and this is what I came up with.

I've also lost my pen to my wacom tablet so had to do it all with my mouse! Which was annoying....

If you guys got any crit at all gimme a shout. :D.

Oh and I'm thinking of buying the Wacom Intuos 4 Medium size. Anyone on here recommend it?

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looking pretty cool, not too much to crit on =)

I would probably pass on the Intous4 and go for a bamboo pen save some cash and get a great tablet too.

http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=77242
  • fearian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fearian greentooth
    scratches are a bit too uniformly applied everywhere. Vary the size, sparsity a bit.

edit: didn't mean to be glib, I was in a rush!

I think you need to work the specular a little more to try and separate the different elements of the texture. Can we see your separate maps?
  • Slave_zero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slave_zero polycounter lvl 8
    I think the main problem is, that your base metal has a uniform color. You have some light stains and light scratching. But all those effects only seem to higher or lower the brightness of you metal base texture. So basicly its all one grey blue color. Maybe try to use different colors for stains, light scratches and rusted / heavy scratched elements.

For example: You have a grey with a tiny bit of blue metal base texture. Adding stains with a warm grey can be visually more appealing than just the toned down base texture.