Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Help me improve as an artist!

HI Everyone,
Ive been a long time watcher of the threads here on pc but have never really posted. Ive finally decided to post because ive gotten stuck and want to improve. And also posting here will help keep me motivated So any crits and comments on my modeling or texturing would be great!
http://i1023.photobucket.com/albums/af355/KennyA_2010/crate.jpg
the first image is of a low ploy crate that I made with procedural textures
http://i1023.photobucket.com/albums/af355/KennyA_2010/cratewire.jpg
This is the wire frame.
http://i1023.photobucket.com/albums/af355/KennyA_2010/lamp.jpg
This is a low poly version of a lamp im thinking about redoing.
http://i1023.photobucket.com/albums/af355/KennyA_2010/polycounttest.jpg
This is a low poly rocket launcher I worked on. It sits at 1,416 polys.

Replies

• JesseClaggett
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hi Kenny, I'm just getting started in modeling myself so I don't know how much help I will be but I thought I would encourage you anyway. I have a few observations, the individual slats on the crate normal map look inconsistent from one to the next. I presume you wanted two opposite facing angles of the same degree on the edges of each slat and not a series right or left facing angles as can be seen in the two crate sides on the left of your normal map. Seeing as these are just straight lines this might be easier to just "draw" into your map using Photoshop. There is an nVidia plugin that can help with that. The other observation is that the rocket launcher barrel looks rough and faceted when I was expecting a more smooth cylindrical look. If that is not intentional (to mimic denting for example) I would perhaps check your smoothing groups.

Hope that helps
  • artquest
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    artquest polycounter lvl 13
    Hi, welcome to polycount!