Home Technical Talk

Environmental Modeling/Texturing Process

UNCCheezy
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
UNCCheezy polycounter lvl 10
I'm really new to this, but I am planning on making a small tutorial about how to model and texture environments with one map. It's going to be very rudimentary, but considering the amount of "figuring out" I did this weekend without much successful luck of finding information, I feel it's needed. It would have saved me many hours.

Before I get started though, I just want to make sure I have the process correct. I basically just found bits and pieces about how to do this, so I'm probably missing some steps. If you guys would help me confirm that the steps I'm thinking are correct, it will benefit someone who was once at your skill level. (weze all n00bs at one point) Since I just figured most of this out, I'm going to try to get it done while it's fresh on my mind.

The conceptual process is this.(so far, would like feedback)
1)model object.
2)layout uv's.(or skip and do in step 5??)
3)find textures.
4)make single texture map based on found textures.(creates an interesting problem for textures that don't look good on model once applied, replace? At this stage at least figure out your spacing)
5)re-map uv's to new texture map.

This was the process I was looking for. I had previously modeled/textured object, but only tileable textures with one texture per face or object.

The links that I found Important are here:
Single Map Textures:
http://www.game-artist.net/forums/support-tech-discussion/182-step-step-techniques-tiling-textures-3ds-max.html (my tutorial will closely resemble this one, but use Maya. I also feel like one small step was left out in this one. I'm possibly thinking about a video.)

http://poopinmymouth.com/process/tips/thirding.jpg

Basic Texturing:
http://www.veoh.com/search/videos/q/houseoftutorial#watch%3Dv5888250YhQrn2NE