Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Himalayas Styleguide

Hello everyone, my name is Sam, I'm a student from the Central Ohio Area. For the past 6-7 years I've been building maps for various games (UT2K4, UT3, CoD, etc), but only recently have I started to make my own models and assets. I started making my own models about a year ago.

This summer I've been on a crash course in texturing models using 3DS max and Photoshop. I've been a lurker for the past four months and I finally happy enough with one of the styleguides I've been working to show it off.

I'm looking for any constructive feedback, particularly with the models and lighting.

Thanks, and I hope you like it!

Note: I'm posting two pics of each, one with snow and one without so you can see the models better.

him01.jpg
him02.jpg
him03.jpg
him04.jpg
him05.jpg
him06.jpg

Thoughts?

Replies

• mcbrightside
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Anyone?

Sorry for the bump.
  • shinobix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    shinobix polycounter lvl 16
    I'd rethink your hanging flags. They look more like carnival flags rather than prayer flags.

http://tomallwood.com/images/locations/nepal/prayer_flags.jpg

That's more in the tradition of the Tibetan culture, than the triangle pointed flags.
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    looks like a good start man, the main things holding it back i think are the textures and the lighting. the textures seem kind of blurry, I dont know if its the way it has been rendered or just low res textures.

That rock foundation texture on the bottom of the building seems really blobby and doesn't have defined rock forms like they have been stacked or whatever, some more work on defining individual rocks would make it look better.