Home General Discussion

Section for noobs?

Hello everyone!

Since I do not see a website feedback section I figured I'd put this here.

As you can see I'm a noob to this community and a noob to 3D art itself. I've made a few things but they're very laughable. :( I'd feel like a jackass placing what I have in the Pimping and Previews section along with the other amazing work.

So my question is: Is there any chance to get a special section similar to Pimping and Previews for noobs?

At least there you'll know what to expect. ;)

PS: Loving all the work here. So jealous.

Replies

• Emil Mujanovic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Emil Mujanovic polycounter lvl 18
    Dmented, welcome to Polycount.

Honestly, there is no real need to have a designated section for 'noobs', as it will alienate the artists that are new to 3D, like yourself. The veterans on this site that can provide you with valuable information, feedback and critique will probably choose to avoid the 'noob' section altogether which is exactly the opposite of what you'd want.

Personally, just post your work in P&P, ask for some feedback, trawl the rest of the forums for tips, tricks and ways to improve your workflow from the other threads. Most importantly, practice practice practice. You'll start to see results.
  • Jedah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jedah polycounter lvl 8
    Don't feel bad that your work looks shoddy now. No one picks up 3D and creates perfection right from the get go. We were all making shoddy work when we started. This stuff takes practice. You will get better as long as you keep up the motivation.
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    can we also have a section for old gimmers like myself to complain about the price of cigarettes and the youth of today with their spikey haircuts and emo like whining.
    It was all different in my day back with windows 95 and my 2mb video card / 3dsmax 0.5 for dos etc etc