Home Technical Talk

Problems with Deep Paint 3D

Hi,

I was wanting to learn Deep Paint 3D, but pretty quickly found out that the project seems a little dead. My problem seems to be that Photoshop doesn't want to load the plug-ins. Does anyone know if it's able to support CS4?

Also, are there any alternatives out there? That is: a program that can export a "screen grab" into PS, then paint with your familiar tools in PS, then export it back and have it projected onto the model. I know there's some good alternatives out now, but I would be the most interested in something that lets me texture with Photoshop in a projection based manner.

I was very inspired by this guy, http://slipgatecentral.livejournal.com/26118.html, and that got me interested in a more projection based workflow of texturing.

I'm a noob with this stuff, and almost only done high-res stuff before (my first venture into low-poly stuff) so any help would be greatly apprecaited.

Thanks!:)

Replies

• SpeCter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SpeCter polycounter lvl 14
    I think you can do this with Zbrush and ZappLink.But in prefer to use mudbox for things like that.

Here is a video of Zbrush+ZappLink+Photoshop:
    http://vimeo.com/8232901

There are more options to do this, but i actually forgot the names.
  • r_fletch_r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    r_fletch_r polycounter lvl 9
    Mudbox works really well for this as does blender.
  • SpeCter
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah fletch thats my opinion too, but i think he wants to use photoshop for texturing but in combination with projektion painting.Is that possible with mudbox?

I really should try blender when it´s final.I hated it when it had this old interface but i liked the new one in the alpha/beta and my hate towards blender was gone :D
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter