Home Technical Talk

Concept Sculpting VS 2D concepting

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
gibson543 polycounter lvl 13
Hey guys whats up, I've seen many videos lately of people using sculpting tools to concept instead of 2D tools such as PS artrage etc.

I'm thinking about designing a new character myself, and I'm wondering which way I should go about doing it, concepting it with 3d tools, or concepting it the classic way

So basically I just wanna see what you guys think about both kinds, preferences, thoughts, which one is better than the other (for you) which one you use more often, things like that. Thanks

-Will

Replies

• BlackulaDZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I like to use a combination of both, I'll grab a basemesh or zspheres and do a quick mockup, nothing fancy, then take screenshots and paint over them to strengthen or change the ideas.
  • maze
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I am not a character artist, but for props/env I use both, start on paper, scan, block shapes in max, few render passes in mental ray with arch n design shaders, and heavy post in ps, actually (and quite obvious) it depends on how fast you are to achieve a good result with any given technique. If you find than sketching in 3D plus photoshop paint over works fine, then go for it man! (you should look at x-convict thread) result is what counts. I guess for a character you will be replacing the max part with zbrush. Hope to see what you can come up with soon!
  • oglu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oglu polycount lvl 666
    here an interesting interview with neville page (avatar, star trek) about this...
    http://www.cgchannel.com/2010/03/iconic-creature-design-with-neville-page/
  • Bibendum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message