Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Sam Hakem

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
samhakem polycounter lvl 14
hey guys...im in my second (FINAL NOW, MSC 3D ) year of 3D Art at Swinburne in Melbourne...would love some constructive criticism on my concepts! Im trying to push my drawing to an industry level...Ive been drawing for maybe a little over 12 months so Im still a noob

image1.png

Replies

• BunnyJen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BunnyJen polycounter lvl 6
    Hi there!

Well I'm no expert but from looking at this so far I'll try and offer a little crit from my perspective. :)

Do they offer life drawing classes on your course? I find they really do help!

At the moment I'd say the legs and hands look pretty cool. The chest and his shoulders look out of proportion though. Also I'd say perhaps changing the pose might help. Have him standing on a flat surface maybe, rather than floating. This might help give him more sense of weight and might help you with the proportion.

I'm learning at the moment also and the thing that everyone tells me is work on your lighting. Decide where the light source is, draw a little marker in if it helps, then work out how the character would be lit from that adding highlights and shadows.

I'm finding that really concentrating on my lighting is helping me so much, you lose the outlines ( outlines don't exist) and it adds form and shape instantly.

I hope this helps a little bit, but as I said I'm no expert so by all means ignore me hahha! :D Good luck with your work. :)
  • samhakem
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wow thanks so much! Thats great feedback, you really hit the nail on the head...really helpful! Your totally right about the light source and my proportions...I know about using a light source but always seem to forget to implement it know what I mean? Life drawing? I wish lol! I know I desperately need it...