Home General Discussion

Can a Maya user make it in the games industry?

so after browsing through this forum it seems like a good place to ask this since so many people here are working at game companies.

I want to build a portfolio and try to find a job as an environment artist. Although all the companies I looked at listed 3ds as what they use, and a few had "3ds/Maya". I've been using maya for 5 years, tried out the 30 day trial of 3ds Max but didn't like it at all.

So,basically I want to know. Do I need to learn 3ds to get a job? Am I misinformed? Are game developers moving towards Maya or letting artists choose what program to use?

It seems strange that you have to use 3ds for games when Maya is made by the same company and does the same thing (only better in my opinion). I'm willing to invest in 3ds and take the time to learn it. I just don't want to spend my time learning a new tool when I could be building a portfolio, unless I have to.

BTW, I don't want this to turn into a "which program is better" thread, because everybody has their own preferences. I just want to know which is the better investment as far as getting a job is concerned. Thanks

Replies

• Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    Can a Maya user make it in the games industry?

Lol_face.jpg
  • trancerobot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    trancerobot polycounter lvl 7
    Hi, I'm new here too. I'm a longtime Blender and occasional Max user, and if there's one thing I've learned is that once you know one program you know them all.

If you can produce great art in Maya, there's nothing to stop you from doing the same in Max. If you want a job that requires it, you might want to freshen up your understanding of the program. I used to dislike Max too, but I've learned that as with any program you automatically dislike what you aren't familiar with.
  • haiddasalami
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    haiddasalami polycounter lvl 14