Home General Discussion

Enviro artists- original vs. common models for demo reel?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
100Chihuahuas polycounter lvl 7
Hey there!

I am a student and aspiring environment artist halfway through my education and must soon choose a concept for my demo reel.
I am curious what would be better as a piece on my demo reel, something commonly seen in video games (For example a rotting warehouse, some ruins in the forest, a scary house), or something not commonly seen. (like a... crazy awesome village in the trees, or a busy marketplace, or a gorgeous garden, ect)

It would make sense to me that to stand out of the crowd I might want to do something original and memorable, but I'm wondering if I should show that I can do common things too, like a generic scary warehouse.

Thanks for any comments and opinions!

Replies

• adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    My first suggestion: Is don't jump right in to creating art for your demo reel. It's a poor expectation to expect to land a job where your portfolio shows your first run at a lot of different exercises. If you'd like to increase your odds at a job, run yourself through the mill a few times and get really familiar with the tools, your skillset and your problem solving.

I would suggest you do something you feel comfortable doing first. If you think you can hack out a hyper fantasy environment unlike we've ever seen, then do it. If you'd rather go after something a little closer to home - like the front of your house / apartment then do that. Just make sure you do it to the best of your ability. (So light it, do the background, challenge yourself).