Home Technical Talk

Baking Pourous Models [Errors]

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Incomitatum polycounter lvl 17
Here's the image up front:

WIP_035.jpg

Don't worry about the circular or rectangular error. The main issue here are these diamond shaped holes. They are supposed to have a gentle (nearly rounded slope) and do in the model; but the (rays?) are going all the way back in some cases and catching the lips of other ones.

I have never done a Normal with an alpha before, but my alpha texture has similar issues. I have tried -not- using the cage in the projection properties, I have changed from closest to furthest, and now I am out of ideas and my work is at a stand still.

The lip I have circled in purple is an example of what it catching and showing up in the normals.

Also trying it again now with no padding. :|

Any suggestions?

Replies

• Incomitatum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    In this instance changing the padding from 2 to 0 fixed the issue.

EDIT: Well this still wasn't 100%. The alpha was too hard edged with 0 padding and destroyed the point of me using a normal map for the holes at all. :|

I have never used it, but am going to try XNormal now. :|
  • Incomitatum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is what I am getting out of xNormal.

WIP_TrashCanIssues.jpg

It will be a pain in the ass, but I am considering plugging all the holes to get the rays to stop, and then manually creating the alpha based on depth. :|
  • sprunghunt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sprunghunt polycounter
    A bin like this wouldn't be totally transparent anyway, It would have another bin inside. So you could probably get away with less alpha.

dust-bin-for-public-spaces-91355.jpg
  • Incomitatum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    In the final model I do add a cylinder like mesh I am going to have as the bag. I might just put that in, try my bake, and see what happens.
  • Mark.N
    Options