Home Digital Sketchbooks

Time Spent drawing...

Hi everyone :),

Im new to the community and i would like to have some advice from you guy's.

Right now im 27 years old and im a university student . My major is in graphic design and i'ved done a college course in 3D animation. My primary goal is to become a character modeler, so ived decided to start back drawing after a break of 7 years.

The main point of university is to have the diploma and to get a master of 2 years in illustration(concept art)/character modeling.

So the main question is how much time do you guy's spend drawing per day? right now im doing a average of 2 to 2.5 hour per day! is that enough?

the book that im studying are from :

Andrew loomis
Brigdman
hogarth

PS : sorry for the bad english, i dont speak it very often!!! :poly136:

Replies

• AimBiZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AimBiZ polycounter lvl 14
    You can never get too good at anything. Draw as much as you can.

Edit: Oh, and when do we get to see some drawings? :)
  • DarkStar
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It will be soon :)
  • Mezz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mezz polycounter lvl 8
    I don't think just drawing a lot is all you should be thinking about--you should also be thinking about WHAT you're drawing, and exploring all kinds of things to draw, and techinques, and so on.

Since you say you want to do character modeling, I highly suggest life drawing! Find a life drawing class in your area, and head on over! You can find books with nudes to draw, but there's really nothing like drawing from life.

Draw everywhere you go--draw in cafes, on the bus, in nature, anywhere.

Find books that inspire you, books that teach you how to draw from the masters, books that have subject matter on different objects and life forms.