Home Technical Talk

Blender help

I need to do the following in blender, but I have no idea how to:

Check the amount of tris/polygons and such
Smooth out the model in general, preferably not manually since it will take forever and not be that good
Texturing

I am a total newbie at this, sorry.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• helloPeas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hiya, not sure what type of smoothing your after but all your shape editing options are in the editing panel (press F9). Here you could add a subsurf modifier or press the set smooth button. Depends what you're after. Play around with the modifiers and see what works (you can easily hide modifiers in the viewport to make texturing / unwrapping easier).

If it's the normals that are messing up or looking odd; if you press CTRL & n (while the whole object is selected in edit mode) it will recalculate the normals.

Okay, the upper header on the right hand side there is a face count- fa:. This counts quads as faces. In edit mode it's about the selected shape otherwise it's the whole scene count. It mentions verts, edges and scene memory up there too.

Not sure where to find the tri amount though! I'm pretty new at Blender too. If you find out post it up here please! =)
  • gibson543
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    gibson543 polycounter lvl 13
    On the top right of the header, there should be two letters that say FA. This is your quad count. To smooth out the model without adding any geometry scroll down into the toolbar until to come across smooth shading. If you want to smooth by adding geometry add a subdivision surface modifier. And for texturing, look up some UV Mapping tutorials and you should use the Gimp or Photoshop or images for texturing/painting. Blenders painting tools are pretty sub-par
  • Michael Knubben
    Options
    Offline / Send Message