Home General Discussion

On hiring freelancers

huw
huw
Hi, I'm a hobbyist/wannabe game developer. The art takes up all my time, looks bad, then I get fed up and start something else. So changing my strategy, using some of my regular job earned money to get other people to do it for me! Bought a few things from turbosquid already, and got lots of nice free assets from different places but I need more specific stuff:

I'm wondering how to go about hiring freelance artists? How does it work? How do you secure payments, making sure no one gets ripped off. How does copyright work, does the buyer own the model or are there royalties? How expensive are typical types of models? Can the artist do designs or do you go to a concept artist first? Do character artists also rig/animate? etc. Any other advice you can give?

Naturally I'd be looking to hire people from this site ; )

Replies

• Andreas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Andreas polycounter lvl 11
    First you would probably have to be more specific about what it's for... also, from my experience of reading threads like these, the people posting can't often afford the people they want. 'It will look great for your portfolio' or 'I can only pay you 1/5th of what the work is worth but I'll give you 98% of the royalties' aren't things artists want to hear either ;)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    How does it work? How do you secure payments, making sure no one gets ripped off. How does copyright work, does the buyer own the model or are there royalties?
    Depends on the contract.
    You should spend some time researching "freelance contract templates".
    How expensive are typical types of models? Can the artist do designs or do you go to a concept artist first? Do character artists also rig/animate? etc.
    Depends on the artist.
    You need to be perfectly clear about what you expect them to finish.
    Any other advice you can give?