Home Technical Talk

isometric camera help.

-in 3ds max..
-i use free camera - orthographic projection.
-and start with a diagonal camera with a 45 degree angle
x and z in the absolute:world rotate tool.
-i set my render output as 64x64 and enabled safe frame.
-then i adjust the FOV and adjust both the x and y coords of my camera instead of dragging the camera with the move tool 'coz it weirdly affects the z coords. (i don't get it)
-i keep x and y absolute values equal.
-i also use my new FOV settings for the other cameras to be created further on so they'll have equal views.

question:
-i've been doing a bit of guess work trying to center the image into the camera adjusting the FOV and the camera coords. is there a way to eliminate the guesswork involved? especially since i'll be using 8 camera angles, i'm afraid i might mess up the animation.

-i'm new to 3ds max and to the community and i'm no math genius so no making fun of me... lol.. any help would be appreciated. :)

Replies

• JohnnySix
    Offline / Send Message
    JohnnySix polycounter lvl 16
    I usually do it like this

1 : Draw target camera on the grid , the target at zero and the camera moved +50 on x axis.

2 : Group both

3 : Got to the group properties, click the 'affect pivot only' button, then move the pivot to 0,0,0 on the world origin (where the target is)

4 : Click the rotate tool, and deselect the 'affect pivot only' button

5 : Rotate the camera 30* upwards on the x axis (along the line between the camera and the target) then rotate the camera 45* on the Z axis.

6 : Finally, open the group, set the camera to 'orthographic' with the checkbox up top on the camera's properties.
  • zugzwang0626
    @JohnnySix: thnx. i tried that out and it worked better than what i tried to do previously.. but i still had to guess the camera distance and the FOV. before i finalize it so i can duplicate the camera around the object to capture it's views from different angles.