Home Technical Talk

Need help with texturing!

Hiya, I'm new to Polycount and just wanted some help!

So, I've been playing this low-poly game called GunZ ( I doubt anyone knows this game:poly124:)
and recently there has been an update in the development for private servers, so now we can import our own items in-game! Now, the thing is, very few people knew how model, so one guy put up a tutorial on how to do it and well.. he told people to use reference pictures taken from google as texture. You all probably know, this caused alot of ugly and stretched textures.

So, I've been googling some stuff on how to texture, but almost all tutorials are for items with normal maps and spec and all that stuff.
Now, the game only supports diffuse maps.

I've been trying to make a few guns, which weren't that bad for the quality of this game, but swords, katanas etc are a pain in the ass for me.
Could anyone please help me with a tutorial? :)
I'd appreciate it if someone told me step by step on how to make something like this.

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Mr. Bean
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Welcome to Polycount :)

Hmmm, that model seems to have hand painted textures, unless I'm mistaken. You said that most of the tutorials you've run across have spec maps and normal maps etc., while the game you're modding only supports diffuse textures (must be an old game to not even support spec maps). But why can't you follow one of those tutorials and just not do the part that shows how to make the other maps?

For instance, I recommend you take a look at these tutorials:

http://racer445.com/pages/tutorials/metal-crate-tutorial.php

http://cg.tutsplus.com/tutorials/3d-art/how-to-hand-paint-convincing-metal-textures/

Also, you said:
    You all probably know, this caused alot of ugly and stretched textures.