Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Tank (3D scene) - Help needed

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
grantthompson polycounter lvl 13
Hi im new to polycount & relativly new to 3d modelling as well :)
This is the first high poly model i have ever done & to be fair the overall production of it wasnt quite as difficult as I thought :thumbup:

The actual model is for a university project in which the assignment is to create a 3D scene, which included an asset with a 10,000 poly limit.

The scene which I am creating being created within Autodesk Maya and is centred around a tank, in which is situated within a war damaged/warzone environment, the buildings & roads etc. will be damaged/collapsed all around, generally reflecting a warzone environment.

I know that I will get slated for the tank which I have created because fo the fact that its not correct in terms of accuracy.. buttt before I do let me just mention that we were not allowed to create something that was within the real world, although it could take attributes of other assets in order for it to look as though it could in fact be real life (it that makes sense :poly142:) In other words like in GTA they always use cars that resemble another car in almost everyway but slap a different name on it and alter a few shapes etc. in order to not get sued or to have to pay for licenses (again if that makes sense lol). For example the model I have created most of the parts are from the M1 Abrams although there are certain areas which stop it from being a complete replica.

Sooooo basically I have almost finished my high poly & here it is (please critique in every possible way.. but remember im relativly new to modelling :)).. The treads and wheels just need completing in order for it to be officially called complete.

icpe77.jpg

2iqolf9.jpg

rsu92o.jpg

2m6uc1t.jpg

s31qn7.jpg