Home General Discussion

Using video games to teach...

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
G-Saviour18 polycounter lvl 12
Hi, I’m a UK game design student currently working on my dissertation as part of my BA (Hons) degree, my dissertation title is Digital Game Based Learning (DGBL) in Education and I was hoping to hear the opinions and views from UK game developers about using video games to teach. I would appreciate feedback from anyone really, I'm aware this site is visited by a wide range of countries so feel free to post even if you're not from the UK. If you have any knowledge or experience with using or creating digital games to teach then please feel free to contribute your thoughts on the subject, if you haven’t any experience with the medium I’d be interested to hear what you think about the possibility of using digital games to teach.

One of the main issues with DGBL which has led me to post here on this forum is that educators and game developers do not work together to create games, this does not happen as commercial game developers go where the money is, right now high quality games are being produced only for entertainment. This ongoing forum thread will hopefully serve as a basis for the collective attitudes and opinions of using DGBL in mainstream education.

I will be asking teaching professionals their perspective on another forum to see what the current general understanding and feelings towards DGBL are as well. With the collected views from the various online forums I hope to be able to construct my own questions and findings on bridging this gap between educators and industry, it may also allow me to have a more local understanding of thoughts towards DGBL. Since most of the research into DGBL has been conducted abroad, receiving first hand opinions on the matter from UK educators might help to cast a new light on my thoughts of DGBL within this country.