Home Technical Talk

Help with a research project - Concept art for a game character

Hi all im new here and im currently in my final year doing a Games design Course at University. As such i have a research dissertation to complete and a part of this covers research into how a character has been made for a game. Now i can find plenty of documentation on the actual 3D workflows once a character concept has been made but its the process or workflow involved in the creation of the concept art that im in need of help with. So if any one can help shed light on this process or indeed any links to reputable sources such as art/scientific papers or even just to fellow artists that have documented it i would be eternally grateful.

Now just to clarify im looking towards information regarding the start of creating a game character concept. Such as how it refers to game documentation and the like. Thanks again. :thumbup:

Replies

• renderhjs
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    renderhjs sublime tool
    How can you be in a final year and write about something you don't know? To me finals were always about a summary of what one learned of course with some new research.

If you really must take it from the web maybe have a look at the cgtalk interviews and alike websites. They usually interview the artists and ask those kind of questions. But honestly I think it should be from a person and not some net source, like ask yourself or a person you can interview.

My professors always were really strict with this because only if it means work for you it's worth at all.
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • swytch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    swytch polycounter lvl 8
    Hard to cover in a forum, but I can try to hit some high points (I'm also not using any images which is anathema to me, but there it is).