Home Technical Talk

Looking for an Somewhat Cheap and Easy to use 3d modeling Program

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
HeadClot polycounter lvl 9
I am Looking for an Somewhat Cheap and Easy to use 3d modeling Program for personal and perhaps commercial use. Like the Title Says...
I am an Student attending College right now and I have limited funds.
I cannot afford Maya or 3ds Max.

But as of current I am trying to Develop my own Universe in 3D.

Here are just some things I need to Model. Exotic Plants, Humans, Aliens, Star Ships, and Fighters... Just some of the Things I need to model.

I know of Blender but I never can seem to get the hang of it. No matter how hard I try.

I have done some Searches for some 3d modeling Programs but Only things that come up are XSI, Maya, and 3ds max.

If some one could help me and provide an link to a program that costs under $200.00 USD. It would be very much appreciated.

Replies

• Cathodeus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cathodeus polycounter lvl 14
    Nevercenter Silo
  • DarthNater
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DarthNater polycounter lvl 10
    Silo, MilkShape, Blender. All have their learning curves.

I started out in Blender, its a bitch to learn but gets the job done. Free too, so I guess I can't complain. It has an awesome community too.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    silo is going to be the best in that price range
  • Richard Kain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Richard Kain polycounter lvl 18
    Silo for basic modeling in that price range.

If you are wanting to do animations, though, you will eventually have to turn to Blender. (or throw down the money for one of the major packages that supports animations)
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Silo, great little app love the ease of customization and the default workflow is pretty nice. Has a few bugs tho but they never really got in my way that much.
  • HeadClot