Home Technical Talk

More Tablet Talk, YAY!

Greetings,

I know there are alot of threads on Tablets already, so I apologise for starting a new one, but I didn't want to dig up an old one either.

I'm currently looking at an Intuos4 6" x 9" on sale for $400 CAD - originally $550 CAD. This seems like a pretty sweet deal. Only problem is that I've never used a Tablet before, and I'm concerned that I might be 'jumping into the deep end to early'. Is this actually a 'really good deal'? Will this 'higher end' Tablet's size and features really help me to enjoy the experience that much more and make the price worthwhile?

Or should I be looking for something smaller like a Intuos3 4" x 6" to start out with - half the price.

Has anyone had the problem of buying a small Tablet, and then months later felt like they REALLY should have picked up a larger one? Does size even really make that much of a difference - is it just for convenience and ease of use, or could it actually impact quality of work?

Thanks in advance guys - and happy holidays :poly121:

Replies

• ima
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ima polycounter lvl 8
    I've only had one tablet so far, medium intuos4. It's fine as far as size goes in my opinion.
    I thought I'd rather have a medium than small, since that saves me from buying a bigger one later, should I want one.
    And because I got it for almost half the price. Thing is that the bigger ones have a higher resolution so you don't have to zoom as much to do the fine detail, I'd believe.
  • moose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    moose polycount sponsor
    i wouldnt say the size of the tablet changes how the work looks, its all a mater of you presonal comfort.