Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Yet even more hand painted textures...

Welp, rather than pollute other people's threads, I'll post them in here.

I'm trying to get down wood textures, just about like everyone else :D

However, trying to get them to come out resembling planks is... challenging.

First Try
handpaintwood.png

Several Tries Later xD
woodplank2.png

-EDIT-
Work from later in the thread...

woodplank3.png

woodplanksfail2.png

woodplanksfail1.png

redonewoodplank.gif

C&C greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Devin Busha
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Alrighty, more hand painted goodness! I think there's a noticeable improvement between the two. Specifically, you seem to be getting a little more comfortable with contrast. As for C&C, I'm no expert. If I had to pick anything tho, I'd say that the space between the grains of wood (in each plank) seems a little thick and orderly. I'd get in there and try to break things up a bit.

Here's a tip that might help you push the contrast a little more. Try converting your texture to black and white to see how the values are communicating. When I did that to your texture, I saw that you've got mostly low and mid values. Don't be afraid to create a new layer and experiment with some highlights. They can really add a lot of depth. Anywho, goodluck and keep at it! :)
  • 3DK.P.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    3DK.P. polycounter lvl 10
    I agree with Devin, some highlights would definitely help with making the texture pop. I think you would benefit from checking out Devin's hand painting thread especially for wood, just seeing the progression is inspiration enough and there are tons of really good suggestions about getting the texture to look better. The thing I like about this whole hand painting thing is that everyone has their own little twist to it. I'd also say check out JFletcher's stuff because he's amazing at it.
  • Pbcrazy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message