Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Simple Crate (Everyone starts somewhere)

As I've been trying to learn the ins and outs of 3DS Max, a crate seemed the simplest prop to start off with, after watching a few tutorials and such I decided to give one a go myself.

It's nothing spectacular compared to others but it's still nice to gain any info from even the small pieces I'm doing. Any crits welcome.

The designs on the box are just a quick mock up I threw together in Photoshop, the paw print is one of the shapes included with Photoshop. i wanted to mainly focus on the wood itself which was edited from a source photograph.

wire.jpg

Just rendered through light tracer.
2.jpg

Normal map + spotlight.
5-1.jpg

CrateDiffuseMap1-1.jpg

Normal map.
Cratenorm.jpg

Remmember im just starting out so judge me based on inexperience :D

And thank you in advance.

Replies

• Shogun3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shogun3d polycounter lvl 12
    Nice and clean. good job :)
  • Asteric
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Looks so much better than my first model, well done on that.

My crit would be at the corners where each face meets, the wood doesnt match up right, so sections go from a light colour wood, and jump quickly into darker wood, might want to try and fix that. Oh and you should have connected the Uv's together to conserve space.
  • seforin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    seforin polycounter lvl 17
    ok not bad for a first model, off the bat I suggest for your diffuse to get a AO map on it, its really suffering from lack of shadow depth

I also see no nails in your model. If this was a wooden crate it would need to be both industrial glued and hammered with wood nails on upper edges and such

the edges could use a bit of highlighting

(you can achieve this by taking your normal map, desaturating it and then playing with its brightness and contrasts till only the edges are white and then taking that as a overlay on top of your model )