Home Technical Talk

Rigging in Maya - Mini joints and Non-Zero rotations

Hey guys, just on a break at work and thought I'd post up a quick problem I was having smile.gif

Firstly, I'm quite new to character rigging and working with a training series from Digital tutors on next-gen games characters in Maya. I've run into some trouble when trying to orient my joints - when I use the orient joint tool, certain joints receive the error about non-zero rotations (e.g. "Warning: Skipping LeftShoulder: It has non-zero rotations.")

Also my joints are turning out really small when I add new ones to the chain like in the following pic, and I'd rather they are the same size as the original joints I created.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v...innx/LegRig.jpg

Any advice is appreciated, thanks in advance :)

Replies

• kodde
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kodde polycounter lvl 19
    You can change the scale of all the joints in the scene with Display > Animation > Joints Size. Or you can change the Radius attribute of a single joint to resize it individually.

Non-zero rotations is just what it sounds like. You have been rotating your joints and therefor Maya can't orient them for you. A quick way to solve this would be for you to select your root joint (probably pelvis), right click and select Assume Preferred Angle.
    If that doesn't work, select your root joint and then go to Edit > Select Hierarchy, then in your channel box on the right side of your screen write 0 in all the rotation values.
  • ivars
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ivars polycounter lvl 15
    Better yet, freeze transformations on your joints. That way they will have zero rotations but stay in the current position.
  • kodde
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kodde polycounter lvl 19