Home General Discussion

How long should an Environment Art test take?

Hi guys,

did not know where to post this, so here we go. How long should an Environment Art test take? I know prop- few smaller props take up to a week.

What if it is a full environment w/ atmosphere and such. Is it still one week? Is asking for 2 weeks too much?

Please let me know asap!

Thank you.

Replies

• MikeF
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MikeF polycounter lvl 19
    i've never done one before myself, but i think that would be very specific to the goal at hand. Like how large is the environment, can it be broken up modularily or is it going to be mostly unique, does it have to be in an engine? Sorry i cant help much but it just seems like a very broad topic
  • Mazvix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I still appreciate your support, thanks. I know for sure texturing won't take time because it is an illustrative style, so I can easily create tileable textures to save time. It is a ruin scene in the snow. Christmas is coming up friday, so I do not want to say a week and I get side trackted, not that I will allow myself anyways.
  • Cojax
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cojax polycounter lvl 10
    A small props should take you half the day not a week. (depends on size)

Many art tests vary in complexity. I have seen some that should take longer then 24 hours and others only 8 hours. The employer that hands you the test will generally suggest how long it should take. If not then just ask here. Most of us could give you a general idea of how long it should take, It just depends on what it is.
  • Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    The art test I did for Turn10 (a generator prop) was like 3 days, I think. One I got recently was 7 days, another had no time limit (rather complex scene).
  • Mazvix
    Options
    Offline / Send Message