Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fantasy Warrior

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
vcortis polycounter lvl 9
Hey, I'm an aspiring character artist (environment and prop too) and am slated to graduate in December. I just started modeling characters and this will be my 4th to date, and second one using zbrush. Even though I go to school I'm more or less self taught.

This is an Ancient Mercenary type character currently at 9,520 tris. There are a few more things I have to add to the base mesh (including a weapon). Here is the wireframes and the WIP Texturing. Crits are welcome, since I am learning on my own any info is helpful.

"THIS IS THE LATEST UPDATE" - Weapons Added, Posed, Lit. C&C welcome!!!

1.jpg

Replies

• achillesian
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    where did the cloth come from? i dont see it on the base mesh
  • Soft_Hands
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The cloth is the weird bit on his upper back in the side view. I'm guessing it's some sort of leather? The fine scratches on it are odd.
    Think this guy could use more beefy arms.
    I'm guessing that's a thigh plate on his right leg? It messes up the crotch area a bit.
  • vcortis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh sorry, it actually wraps around the back of the head, not the front, that render is the backside of the shoulders/head. You can kind of see it on the base mesh from the side view.

Edits: Yes it is leather. Yeah his arms could be a bit beefier but I want him to overall be realistically proportioned. Yeah that's plate armor on his leg, do you think it will mess him up too much for animation?
  • ralusek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ralusek polycounter lvl 10
    his forearms look a bit short. and trying to keep realistic proportions doesn't mean he can't be a little stronger. his arms just look very weak to support a warrior lifestyle, let alone to match a body that can function in that armor.
  • insaneklown89
    Options