Home Technical Talk

Blender Quad + edge + low poly = topology problem

neoshaman
null
Hello!

This is my first post (help!) here. I have been attract in this forum 'cause of the excellent thred about low poly under 500 tri, which i often use to plead my cause about less poly and more design :) I was particulary geek out when it finally reach its 128 mark (waiting now for the 256). That and many other insightful thread all around.

I'm a game developer who just start making game (before i was just a gamedesigner) for its local area (martinique, french west indies) which is pretty small as a market. As i could not afford to pay a graphist (or could find someone competant and foolish enough to start working for free) i have started learning 3D low poly modeling.

I use blender and learned quickly the basics but got some problem with topology when using quad. Sometime the "hidden edge" of a quad is not in the right direction and give a nasty look to my topology. The only way of getting rid of this is to kill the quad and reconstruct triangle with the correct orientation, then merge them back into a quad. But this is really expensive when you have to fix the whole model.

I know in 3DSmax you could see those edge in the quad and have an option to "edge turn" them. But now i could not afford to pay a full license for max (i'm way too poor). I have try to investigate many other free 3D low poly modeling option but could find a decent one with edge turn. I have read entire manual and browse the net, but no one seems to care.

Is there an option in blender to that i may have miss or a more appropriate 3D package for my need? or maybe i should consider different modeling practice?

Replies

• Neavah
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here's a link to a forum where they talk about this, I'm assuming their question is what your doing, and the first response is an easier way of doing it...

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=97633

Hope that helps! :)