Home Technical Talk

Soo Yea UVW'S

Basicly I am a self taught when it comes to uvw mapping, and lets just say my uvws suck ass so I have to make up for bad uvws when texturing and makes the process longer. I recently completed the low for a project mesh I was playing with but when it came to UVW mapping it I found myself raging or spending way to much time in areas I shouldnt have. Can anyone think of a great DVD or tutorial site or would someone make a video explaining their tips and tricks for 3d studio max?

Here is the mesh

http://s115.photobucket.com/albums/n292/ICRYWHENIPOO/M730A2/?action=view&current=sidewires.jpg

The videos ive been watching lately on uvw mapping always have simple mesh's and never something to complex and the complex mesh setup is what cripples me I think. Thanks for reading this and hopefully this can come of some good and maybe help someone else in this sittuation as me.

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    hey dude,
    It really depends what the mesh is going to be used for really - it can ask for very different UVs.
    What about uploading a small part of the mesh? we could 'solve' the case!
  • Vailias
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vailias polycounter lvl 18
    I agree with Pior. Uploady the mesh. Sometimes a good demo on something familiar can be golden.

There really is a dearth of good middle to semi advanced tutorials out there across many parts of our disciplines no?
  • arrangemonk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arrangemonk polycounter lvl 15
    at max4 times when there were no working autounwrap features i was a kickass uvmapper, but all that tools makes one lazy
    but i always thougt cutting and relyxing until tehre are no dissortions anymore and then cutting again to fit the canvas would be enough
  • Bruno Afonseca
    First of all, get this: http://www.renderhjs.net/textools/