Home General Discussion

Making a proper request for texture art for an existing model...

Short introduction... I'm 32, been married 7 years and have 2 lovely kids... I live in the US, Anaheim CA to be exact. My pretty much one and only hobby for the last 2+ years has been NDS homebrew development. I'm a pretty decent C coder at this point, but I'm an absolutely awful 2D artist.

I've recently begun a journey into the world of 3D programming and modeling for a game idea that is taking shape. I have been trying my hand at Blender and absolutely loving it. I even came across a great converter that takes the ply export from Blender and converts to a packed list for loading on the DS... quite convenient. I've seen a post on it here so I suppose people are aware of the rather low poly limit the DS is stricken with. Still, I've managed some decent models and I'm ready to get working on the texturing... but it brings me right back to the start... I'm a terrible 2D artist!

So... I know that there is a request forum here, but before I go making requests... I'd like to know what is the usual procedure with something like this i.e I've already got the model and just need freelance art for the textures. I would like to be able to do the UV Mapping myself (I'm quite fascinated by it), or perhaps lay out the UV Map, export it and present that along with different angled shots of the models... but is that asking too much? Would it be more appropriate to offer up the model and let the texture artist have at it?

I should say... I'm not keen on the idea of googling for free textures... I've tried a bit and I can't see how photographs count as textures...

Thanks everyone in advance.

Replies

• TheWinterLord
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TheWinterLord polycounter lvl 17