Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: maxoverdrive

These are sketch models for the game I'm working on. I'm not a texture artist (actually i'm not even a modeller, i'm a programmer) so any advice would be welcome. All of the art will be cell shaded in the end product.xp40_5.jpgxp40_6.jpgxp40_7.jpg

Replies

• danpV
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not bad at all for an engineer! Just as a quick question, though: do you have a cell shader for your game? I have to ask because it's usually not until the "too late mark" that people catch the fact that Maya/Max/XSI's cell shaders are not designed to run in real-time.

Also for critique, can you post a wireframe of your vehicle? Perhaps a grey-shaded mesh in addition to that?

Good luck!
  • max_overdrive
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The toon shader in blender is a lot like their GLSL toon shader (except for the auto-smoothing) which runs quite fast.
    I'm hoping to take some hints from that to create a GLSL toon shader in-game. Then we just need the edge shader.

SubSurf mesh (Subsurf level 3)
    xp40_wiretophi.jpg

Actual mesh (SubSurf off)
    xp40_wiretoplo.jpg
  • Pearson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    One thing I've seen used for the outline is to duplicate the geometry and apply a solid black texture (or whatever color you want the edges to be), scale it out along the normals a small amount, reverse the normals, and let standard backface culling remove the extra polys. I don't know how the cost of this technique compares to your other options, but I thought I would throw it out there.
  • max_overdrive
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SV1_7.jpgSV1_7_solid.jpg
    SV1 dedicated space vehicle
  • max_overdrive
    Options
    Offline / Send Message