Home Technical Talk

Couple of questions re: Modelling, Texturing & Scripting

This may sound rookie to people with more experience, I don't feel like a total beginner ...but there's so much to learn!

I am in a phase of revision and working out a development plan for myself over the next year...

To start, if you get a moment... please can someone clarify the following questions...

RE: TEXTURING

- In terms of rendering overheads... which is better:

a) 2048 x 2048 for 3 props
b) 1024 x 1024 for each of the 3 props

- Should I share the same UV & Texture Space between assets... if assets are close together in a scene?
(Am thinking so... but problems if only one of the "shared" assets is used elsewhere)

- I am currently practising purely painting textures. I am used to mixing photo reference textures with the digital paint/compositing over the top

I wonder... Is it okay to have a bit of painted over photo-reference or to blend in layers etc?

Is the reason photo reference not used because it costs more memory?
(and is hard to fit to UV)

RE: MODELLING

- Hard Surface Modelling... does the high poly have to be "one single mesh" when you are using it to make a normal map for a low-poly? Or can you break into parts, generate normal maps for the parts and blend the maps together to make one (all parts share UV within 0 to 1)

- Are there any "past-exam" style art tests available to practise with?? Am really keen to get hold of someone else's concept, and specs and have get stuck in for practise. (I'd like to know exactly how much a concept artist gives you etc). Do you prefer a loose concept or one rigid with detail?

RE: SCRIPTING