Home Technical Talk

3ds Max >> animation curves >> tangents

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Anushka polycounter lvl 12
Hello everybody!

Im new to polycount, but I heard its the biggest online community for game developers and designers.

I used Maya for many years, but now, I started using Max, so I'm new to this software.
I wanted to ask you about a problem I've been having with 3ds Max animation curves:

I Can't see the animation curves TANGENTS on the curve editor!!! :poly122:
I have the foot (for example) of the biped selected, I see the animation curve and the keys on track view panel, the SHOW TANGENTS and SHOW ALL TANGENTS buttons are both ON and the tangents simply don't appear!! I have on motion panel selected quaternion and the keys were made with auto-key and the default tangent option on, although now I NEED to edit all the tangents of the animation. Even if I change it on curve to slow, or fast, or any other tangent option, still I don't see ANY transformation on the curves :poly122:

I can't animate propperly wthout seeing the tangents... What's WRONG?? WHY aren't they visible??
PLEASE help! :poly142:

thanks************

Replies

• MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Hmm I think since you're using Biped it doesn't show tangents in the same way as other anim curves (usually with animations in Max you can show curve tangents - for example try animating a simple Box primitive and they should show up).

However Biped uses its own curve method (bit annoying really, it's inconsistent) and you have to change the curves using the "ease in" and "ease out" keyframe tools in the Biped panel rollouts.

I think that's how you do it anyway, I'm not an animator and it's been a while since I used Biped but from what I recall you can't edit tangents at all in the graph editor for Biped objects. :(
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message