Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First ever game env work, Workshop WIP, crit would be great please!

Hi there,

Anyone who has responded to my posts knows, I am a complete beginner in game art but am working hard trying to develop my skills to a level suitable for employment. I've worked in Arch-Viz for some time but obviously pristine looking boxes with sunsets and human cutouts is a far cry from what I would say is the much more involved creation of game environments, characters and assets. I have a long way to go, but I want to get some crit early as I don't want to get into bad habits if I'm doing something incorrectly.

So up until a week or so ago, I had never created a normal map... never painted a texture, and never even bothered with triangle count.

I'm working on an idea based around a disused workshop, or car garage, I'm thinking rusty old toolboxes, siezed hydraulic lifts, rubble, oil cans etc. A pretty generic scene, but one that will hopefully test me a little for my first go.

Here's my progress so far, and again, crit is encouraged. Obviously things like lighting are just there for the sake of the render, layout of the structure isn't final either and easily changed since the pieces I've made are 256x256 modular.

Here's the pics, I'm unable to post attatchments so apologies for the ImageShack links.

So heres a shot from UE3:

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/5734/garagewip1.jpg

The wall pieces, reversible for texture variation :)

http://img441.imageshack.us/img441/6356/wall1v.jpg
http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/794/wall2l.jpg
http://img200.imageshack.us/img200/2756/beamt.jpg

And the floor slabs, two texture variations, that paint has a spec, which will obviously look better in the engine once lit...

http://img147.imageshack.us/img147/5982/slab001.jpg
http://img178.imageshack.us/img178/8945/slab01.jpg
http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/3633/slab1.jpg

Many thanks

Replies

• Firebert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message