Home Technical Talk

Problem with Baking Normals

Hello everybody, I am self-taught and trying my best to learn how to make game assets.
I am trying to make a revolver game-ready asset, but I am facing some difficulties when baking the normals.

The problems with the baking can be seen here:

As you can see I have these edge lines showing, and some black and not defined edges.
My LowPoly looks like this:

and my HighPoly is this:

It looks to me like I should not have triangulated the edges in the LowPoly, but I thought that it would have to be exported triangulated anyway...
The UVs are packed in 2048x2048 with 8px padding (the same setting I use when baking) and look like this:

In particular the object in question has these UVs:

If you guys need any more information I would be happy to provide it, Thanks a lot for the help, really means a lot.
Have a great day!

Replies

• pxgeek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pxgeek keyframe
    It's good practice to triangulate.
    However, your low poly wireframe shows some polys triangulated and others not. Are you sure you're triangulating the entire mesh?
  • Luce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pxgeek said:
    It's good practice to triangulate.
    However, your low poly wireframe shows some polys triangulated and others not. Are you sure you're triangulating the entire mesh?
    Hello, thanks for the reply.
    Yes, i triangulated the LowPoly when I exported it in fbx, I updated the screenshots of the post with the triangulated LowPoly used for Baking.
  • pxgeek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pxgeek keyframe
    It looks like you might need to separate the smoothing of your low poly to match your uv shells.
    Its a little hard to tell from the screenshots.
  • Luce
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pxgeek said:
    It looks like you might need to separate the smoothing of your low poly to match your uv shells.
    Its a little hard to tell from the screenshots.