Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Mount Saint Michael street - Stylized game environment breakdown

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Nirvis polycounter lvl 2
1. Introduction

Hi! My name is Mark Vives, I'm a junior 3D artist from Barcelona and I'd like to share how I build a street of the Mount Saint Michel, a beautiful fortress in the north of France. I chose this place as a reference because I love its architecture and I thought it would be a good practice for an stylized environment. The texel density I'll use in this project is around 512 pixel/m.

Link to my artstation: https://www.artstation.com/nirvis

2. Blockout

First of all, I had to build a simple blockout of the street I wanted to replicate in Blender. As reference I used pictures from internet and google maps 360º views. 

3. Architecture props 

Once I had the blockout, I started to model (also in Blender) the main architecture components that I'll need to build all the different buildings. I've divided these props into different categories depending on their materials. Each one will be packed on the same UV map for optimization purposes. 

3.1. Low poly meshes

3.1.1. Atlas Wood A (2048x2048) and Atlas wood B (2048x2048)

3.1.2. Atlas painted metal (1024x1024)

3.1.3. Atlas stones (2048x2048)

3.1.4. Atlas painted wood (4096x4096)

3.2. High poly meshes

After modeling all the low poly archictecture props, I exported them to zBrush and created a high poly mesh of each one. Here's an example of the high poly stones in zBrush.

3.3. Bake maps

After this, I baked the high poly information to get the normal, curvature and AO maps in Marmoset Toolbag.

3.4. CAO Shader