Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Characters and Progress Shots [Sketchbook]

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Stefmon polycounter lvl 7

Hey, I'm a 3D Character Artist but want to develop my 2d illustration skills. I'll use this topic to post any illustrations or concept sketches I do.

-------------------------
I wanted a break from my 3D projects and started her this Monday. I wanted to make a knight with a massive, gun-like lance. I tried using photos for the first time as a base for rendering and blending. When I put the face on and started modifying it, it started to remind me of smooth oil paintings and some Korean character illustrations, which is what I decided to aim for. This is my first character illustration so I'm super open to critique. 

Below are progress images. At the bottom is a reference and mood board I put together at the end to show the images I used as reference and render bases. I never used and image as is without further modifying it, and I matched the images to the line work, not the other way around. 

(Pardon the magnificent initial paper sketch)

Whoa, big jump between values and render, right? Below shows the number of groups and layers I had for rendering the armour.

The plate was the simplest. I would say that the trousers and chain-mail was hardest to get right with images because of the angle and texture.

Replies

• Stefmon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The last couple of days I spent some time trying out an idea for a climbing character. It was all entirely driven by the way the straps would hold up something heavy on her back. I'm not going to finish it. It was just a study of silhouette and painting. I don't think the concept itself makes too much sense but it was fun to do.

(sorry for all the grey space(it's all URLs))

I know the gun makes no sense (why is the scope behind the rail things???)
  • Stefmon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message