Home Adobe Substance

Trim sheet - Substance Designer, Help.

Hello everyone. 

I just started studying the Trim Sheet technique but i'm coming across several problems and doubts. Since i am also not good at researching specific and sometimes hidden information on the web regarding the topic i will try to ask here. 

In few words:

- I made 4 different marble materials using Substance Designer.

- I would like to pack them all using the Trim Sheet technique so that i will have just one texture in the 0 to 1 UV space with 4 different marble textures. 

QUESTION: 

Each marble is a single material and since I am using Substance Designer how can i pack all the nodes together to create one single material composed by a Trim Sheet of 4 different marbles?

Thank you for your time in advanced.

Replies

• zachagreg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    zachagreg ngon master
    Drop a tile sampler node in, set the X amount to 1 and the Y amount to 4. Make sure the pattern is square and the scale is set to 1. Under Color set Color Parametrization Multiplier to 1 and the Mode to Row Index, this will give you 4 different grays in descending value. Then run these through 4 histogram select to pick out the shades of grey and make them white. Use these as your masks to mask out using material blends.

If you want bevels in between your materials, then on the final material you can take out your height and you would in essence blend in those 4 masks with bevels on them to get transitions between your separate mats.
  • Gleeba
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I made the mask as you said, but i am still confused. 

Do i have to bring 4 different sequence of nodes into 1 Substance Designer file or I can/should pack all the nodes into "base color" "Roughness" "normal" before copy and paste them into the Trim sheet Sub.De. file?

Cause i have minimum 20 nodes for each material and i don't think i should copy and paste 40 nodes into one single file
  • zachagreg