Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[FINISHED] Metro Exodus/Artyom's Bracer

abrynildsen
polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
abrynildsen polycounter lvl 2
Hello! 
I will use this thread to document my new project from beginning to end, which is to recreate Artyom's iconic bracer from the Metro Exodus game.

I have a few goals in mind for this project: 
1. Get out of my comfort zone. I have mostly been creating weapons for the last year, and I fell into a nice rhythm modeling guns, but I've been feeling burnt out lately, and I need to challenge myself with something new.
2. Expand my skillset. This project will test me in stuff I've never done before. i.e the leather will mostly be sculpted in ZBrush, and I have very little experience with sculpting. As of now I think this will be the main challenge in this project.As a challenge to myself I will do as much as possible in the modeling/sculpting part of this project and leave as little as possible for the texturing.
3. Have a portfolio piece by the end of it. When this project is done I hope to have a piece I'm proud of. So far this year all the projects I've done isn't something I want to showcase. 

So, on to the actuall process I've made so far! 

I started, of course, by gathering reference material. The original artist's artstation was very helpful for this, as they've posted really detailed renders of their work from multiple angels. This reference board will most definitely be updated and evolve throughout the project. 

I've also been able to create a basemesh for the bracer. This it how it looks in ZBrush before I've started the sculpting progress (With a few subdivisions) 

I will update this thread whenever I have made process on the project, any and all feedback and CC is welcome!

Replies

• abrynildsen
    Offline / Send Message