Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UE4] Asian Garden Environment - Looking for critique

Murozond
node
Offline / Send Message
Murozond node
Hi everyone! I'm new to this forum. I'm a student in Game Art & 3D Animation and I just recently finished a school project focusing on modular assets. I decided to create another environment with modular assets. After watching Brian Recktenwald's masterclass on environment design, I decided to apply his workflow. I made the choice to create an Asian Garden Environment which has architecture from older chinese/japanese dynasties. 

I'm thankful about any critique or feedback I can get :)

Gathering references

First off I gathered references for my environment where I mainly focused on textures as well as details of different assets which I'll want to have in my modular asset library. Of course I also picked some reference pictures which should show the "big picture" of the final environment. 

UE4 block out shapes

In a next step I created some simple blockout shapes within Maya and import them in UE4 to test modularity, proportions and set up the level itself. I made use of the landscape brush to not make the level look to flat. The green lines indicate into what assets I thought of breaking down the environment. For the guardian lion statue I planned to make use of photogrammetry. Below the bridge a creek will flow through though I think right now the ditch is too deep.

Planning texture trim sheets

Right now I'm in the process of planning my trim texture sheets. This is somehting I'm trying for the first time. I downloaded one from gametextures whilst I created a second one by myself using the old school way with Photoshop and Substance B2M. I did a test render of them in Marmoset Toolbag to see how they respond to different lighting. There's probably one or two more trim texture sheets to come and I'm not completely happy yet with the one I created myself so I will do some rework there too.

Replies

• hublus
    Options