Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

lasgun wip

hello guys! im compared to most of you, relatively new to modelling. i always wanted to make my own games so i started to learn modelling and texturing.

heres a screen of my lasgun in blender, with normal map applied ( xnormal is giving me troubble atm, im totally new to using maps)

textures will come soon, i hope my second texture will be good.

critique and tips always welcome, im here to learn and improve after all ! :D

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2nneq0&s=5

http://tinypic.com/view.php?pic=2cfyyxx&s=5

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Use IMGUR. Better quality and easier to link in directly.
  • stahl
  • stahl
  • theSixtyEight
    Offline / Send Message
    theSixtyEight polycounter lvl 7
    Make that metal darker (darker than paint) and add some big scale details (big but subtle blobs maybe)
  • s6
    Offline / Send Message
    s6 polycounter lvl 10
    if you put in front of the link, and behind, It will embed the image onto the forum. Much easier for people to review and provide feedback.

like so

LrS4SA3.jpg

It's generally best to work on the Diffuse, specular, and gloss all at the same time. When your texturing your defining materials and the relationship diffuse, Spec, and gloss have with each other is what defines that material. You'll get the best result if you work on their relationship to each other together at once.
  • Shrike
    Offline / Send Message
    Shrike interpolator
    Your scope is like waaay to small, also i would heavily suggest adding a lot more detail in form of bolts and scratches in the normal since the actual shape is so simple.
    Also more variation in texture would be good. Color variation and dirt, make it not so evenly colored. The edge highlighting is pretty nice
  • stahl
    the proportions are spot on, those wont be changed. not my fault if the designers made it that small :V