Home Technical Talk

ZBrush, Dynamesh, and Subdivisions, Where did they go?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
whyareyoumakin1 polycounter lvl 7
So I just discovered Dynameshing this week and i wanted to play with it on a model i had already been working on, but when u activate dynamesh i lose my lower subdivision levels. When I try to reconstruct subdivision levels ZBrush tells me

"reconstruction result: Mesh contains triangles. operation cancelled"

Im a bit new to ZBrush, but i cant get around this problem, am i'm sure i've missed something small but I've hit a bit of a wall and i don't want to lose my precious Sub Division levels. Has anyone else encountered this problem?

Replies

• Orb
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Orb polycounter lvl 13
    Well since Dynamesh it's basicaly a remesh of your tool, a new topology, you obviously lose your subdivisions. Dynamesh is not supposed to be use this way. You need to use Dynamesh at the early stage of your mesh, when you are still blocking the main shapes, stretching the polygons with transpose and move. If you try to use Dynamesh on a finished model, you'll have all your details blurred, because the maximum density of dynamaesh is 1024 (which is enough for the blocking but not enough to merge 2 finished models for example)
  • pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    That's the way Dynamesh works, by design. It's always a lvl0 dense mesh.

If you are working on a dynameshed model and want some kind of subdivisions, you can do a "remesh" at low resolution to get a new topology, then subdivide that and perform a "project all" to shape this new topology around the forms of the dynameshed version.

If you havent done too many silhouette changes with dynamesh, you can transfer the form of the dynamesh object to your original subdivided object, also with "project all".

If these explanations are not clear I can always make a short video for you.