Home Technical Talk

I'm just getting into 3d and I'm trying to make a thing with proper topology.

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Terkan polycounter lvl 6
So I'm following this Pokéball tutorial (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PPq0QF2vbBg) and I noticed comments under the video about bad topology, so I thought I'd try to tackle learning that part early. I had this "clever" idea to cut off the messy top off the standard sphere and replace it with a geophere (they are more UV friendly, right?), while keeping the smooth edges of the middle pokeball line, but I have no idea how I'd merge them together properly.

I might just have the wrong idea altogether, I don't know.

I was also thinking that cutting a circular hole with a cylinder boolean like in the video might be a problem? Since those curves aren't proper edges between vertices? Now, with the way he made it in the video it didn't seem like the topology had any implication on any UV mapping, because he just generated some materials and applied them to the objects. But I wanna try to "handpaint" it and do some funky designs with the geometry so I wanna make sure I learn proper topology early if I can to make the UV stuff less difficult. I did a little 3d before summer and UV mapping was pretty terrible to try to get right, since my mesh was a mess and I didn't find any good way to cut it.

Anyways, here's that pokeball:

So right now I'm wondering about a few specific things:

1: How/if I can merge these shapes and bridge the gap between the middle and top parts.
2: If the cylinder boolean is a bad way to do this, and how it might be done better.
3: How to extrude the center inward to make the inner section without it doing this...