Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Photoreal Head!! - Self Portraight

Oliver Hopley
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Oliver Hopley polycounter lvl 8
I'm working on a project to recreate my own head as photo real as possible. I'm a student so this could go horribly wrong and could become very amusing.
C&C is welcomed and encouraged. This will be a learning process for me so any tips on how improve are brilliant.

To start with I took some reference photos with a friend.

And then used the program 3D zephyr to turn these photo into a model using photogrammetry. It was my first time with the program. I think it's a good base for the low poly but I'm not happy with any of the details so I won't be using it to create my normal maps.

This is where I'm at now with the retopology.

For the retopologising I am using this image of Drake from Uncharted 4 as reference I want to make it appropriate for new games coming out on consoles and good PC's.

Replies

• almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    You've missed a very important step: Mesh cleanup.

You need to take your scan data, and do active sculpting on it, to remove any hair, eyebrows, etc. Make sure the eyes are the right shape and aren't all bobbly along the edges.

I'd probably rotate the head until it's in a bit more of a symmetrical position (eyes lined up both vertically and horizontally). Once you've one all of that, THEN you retopo.
  • Oliver Hopley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

Thanks @Almighty_gir I was thinking that I would create the sculpt out of low poly mesh. However now you've made me think about it it dosen't make any sense to do it that way over a starting retopology with a clean high poly. I will get to work on making the high poly out of the photogrammetry. I think I can still preserve the work I've done using something like Wrap3 to re-project my low poly onto the new model and carry on from there.

• almighty_gir
    Options