Home Technical Talk

Question regarding handpainted tileable textures (please help!)

Offline / Send Message
Pinned

Hi everyone! My name is Rau Castillo, II'm a beginner artist and this is my first time posting on this forum. I would really appreciate if any of you could help me with a question I have.

I'm currently working on a handpainted tileable bark texture. Once I got to the point where I am now, I started looking at other similar bark textures for reference on shadows and lighting and I noticed that a lot of them look like they are more "zoomed in" than mine, and show a smaller area of the tree (I hope that makes sense. I don't really know how to explain it)

Here is my WIP texture and one example of what I talked about to make it more clear:

Mine:

Texture found on the internet:

My question is: 

Does it come down to personal preference how "zoomed in" a texture is, or are there any set of "rules" on how tileable textures need to be?
I'm doing this texture as a portfolio piece and not for any specific project, so I don't have any requirements that I need to follow. However, I still want to make a texture as if it were to be used in a real game.

I'm still on the very early stages so now would be a good time to change anything, before I move on.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

Thank you very much in advance,

Rau

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    Using larger area helps hiding the repeating a bit, but basically its up to you or what looks good.
  • Noth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Noth polycounter lvl 14
    Yeah, it helps to hide tiling but it's also more work to paint. A suggestion would be to paint a nice modest size texture and then duplicate it 3 times to take your 512 texture to a 1024. Then you modify those enough to be unique and then you've saved yourself a bunch of time.