Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

(Critique / Tip request) 3D Character Model for Game Animation

Hello Polycount! I'm new here, and as a student in video game art and animation, I'm new to the scene as a whole. I've always wanted to bring characters to life so I chose to specialize in animation, however we've learned a lot in Maya with a boundless amount more still left to learn, but as my final personal project before we team up with programmers, I wanted to make my own character and animate them as a portfolio piece.

I wasn't planning on anything fancy, and I knew it would be difficult going into it. However, despite that I want it to be the absolute best I can manage as a model, rig and animation. So with that, I wanted to send this up here on the forums to hear the advice or critiques everyone had for the model.

I haven't completed the rig, and I know the rig will break the model as soon as I animate it, but I'd like the model to be in the best state I can manage before hand so fixing it should be easier, or at a minimum.

Front with topology.

Side

Back

Any feedback or input would be very appreciated! I've always wanted to do this since I started class, and now after a year into it, I'm taking my chances to pull this off. I am working off of a concept, and I have the 2D turn-around of the character if that's necessary. 

Thank you all in advance!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
  • carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    if you aim for low res model try something a bit more organized , keep your line straight this way you will have much easier time painting skin weights , also its a good idea to have at least 3 edge loops per joint or some modification of that 
  • ColdAardvark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I assume this means I should add loops and or move edges to these areas. Thank you!
  • ColdAardvark
    Options
    Offline / Send Message