Home Career & Education

Aspiring game developer-where do I even begin?

Fawful
null
Offline / Send Message
Fawful null
Greetings all. I am new to the forums here and I was redirected here by a friend who suggested I come here to learn about game development and such. I have no knowledge of any programming language, nor anything about game design. And I would like to change that. I want to start working on games, but not as a career or anything, just as a little hobby. I want to start small with some 2D games. I know doing this on my own is very difficult and I would need some help. Anyway, so where should I begin if I wish to do so? What should I learn first? What programming language should I use if I want to develop something on the Unity Engine? What are the main steps to developing a game? Anything?

Replies

• [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Fawful
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fawful null
    Probably better to have an idea and figure out what you need to learn to make that idea happen.  If you just want a platformer (like mario) you could start with template projects in unity or unreal or gamemaker and start messing around.  Happy googling.
    I have a pretty good idea for what kind of game I want, but as I said I have no knowledge whatsoever of anything game design/coding that goes. Not even for using a game engine. So I just mess around with it and try to learn?
  • [Deleted User]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [Deleted User] insane polycounter
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    You will be pleasantly surprised by how many free, complete game projects exist for Unity.