Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

General Portfolio Advice

Ramshackle Shed
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Ramshackle Shed polycounter lvl 4
Hello everyone, I'm a recent graduate from a Digital Art and Animation degree that suffered from being too unspecialized.
I'm currently doing 2D motion graphics for a marketing company with some scattered freelance, but I would like to move to the games/film industry. I've sent applications with not much luck so far.

I understand my biggest problem is that I haven't specialized on anything yet,  I think I would prefer working in the 2D field but I'm afraid my skills are not entry level yet. I would really appreciate if anyone could take a look at my portfolio and tell me what my main problems are, if my work is too scattered or if it's simply not good enough. I feel I've been stuck in some sort of echochamber and I think some outside feedback would be useful.

Anyway, if you have the time to take a look and give me some pointers, it would be awesome:
http://sandra-gerse.com/ 

Replies

• lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    Looking at your portfolio Id say that your issues are all of the above.
    So first of Id recommend going through "Your portfolio repels jobs".

Things like your home page could most likely be removed entirely. 
    as for your 2D work, its all over the place, both in style, presentation and skill.

Where do you wanna work and what do you wanna do there? Build your portfolio around that.

your art isnt bad, but your portfolio really needs clarity, cohesiveness and focus.
  • jaker3278
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jaker3278 polycounter lvl 8