Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hard-Surface / Environments Portfolio Critique

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
purplekami polycounter lvl 2
Hey Polycount, sorry to bother you guys with yet another portfolio critique, I'm a senior game artist entering his last semester of college and was wondering what projects could I accomplish over the course of this semester to have a portfolio in good shape. I'm unsure whether I should keep focusing exclusively on sci-fi / hard-surface, or if I should branch out my environments more, for example making a more traditional Victorian era scene.

https://www.artstation.com/artist/alexisfaintreny

Fortunately I've been learning a ton and working really hard over the last year trying to improve myself, unfortunately this also means I don't have very much work to show. Over the winter break I've been working on a sentry turret I plan on adding as well. (Thread here if curious: Link)

I really appreciate taking the time reading this and would be really thankful for any advice / feedback.

Replies

• Shyralon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shyralon polycounter lvl 11
    Hi!
    I think the mech prototype facility is by far your strongest work.
    The mecha does not to bad either, but it is very hard to tell because I could only find a textured version with a wireframe on top of it - maybe add a "clean" presentation shot for this?
    Compared to the other ones, the courtyard looks very lackluster, I think I would take it out/replace it with newer work.
    In general the modeling looks quite solid, the overall texturing could still be improved a bit to the same level as the modeling :)
  • purplekami
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    purplekami polycounter lvl 2